36 Weeks – & an Oliver Update too!

We got to see our little girl via ultrasound on Monday. She’s big. Probably not quite as big as Oliver was (although he did have an extra week or so to pack on the pounds in there), but… 90th percentile. Based on their measurements, their guess is that she is a little over 7.5 lbs right now, which would put her at 9.5lbs or so at birth. Not really a big surprise, though everyone said girls are “always smaller!” It was so neat to get to see her again, she’s so stinkin’ cute already, and she looks like she has her brother’s chubby little cheeks.

Oliver was a total ham at that appointment, laughing with his big belly laugh any time he heard the technician or Sam & I laugh about something. He had no idea what we were talking about, but laughed just the same. I have to say, he has been a real trooper these last few days.

This past Friday morning Oliver and I were at the grocery store and I had been feeling lightheaded all morning (another weird side-effect of this pregnancy, apparently). By the time I got to the checkout counter and paid for my groceries I was really struggling and figured I would just sit on a bench in the front of the store for a little while. I started really swaying on the way there and almost blacked out, dropping to my knees and trying to keep my eyes open and focused. All I could think about was that if I passed out, someone could take Oliver. Is it possible to will yourself not to pass out? Pretty sure that’s what I did. I was so terrified by the possibility that someone could snatch Oliver that I held onto the cart (on my knees) until I could muster up the strength to get to that bench. Surprisingly, no one noticed (or cared?) and miraculously I made it to the bench. I called Sam and thankfully got through to him and he came to pick us up. Needless to say, it was a scary morning, and I do not think I will be grocery shopping by myself for the next few weeks. Yikes! I had extra bloodwork done at the hospital this morning just in case, and yes, I am pushing snacks and drinking so much water I think I’ll explode. But, I think Sam will still be coming with me for errand running for a while now.

Other than that, things have been going quite well. 🙂 We had a great visit with my parents this past weekend, who brought Oliver a little slide. He LOVES it, and points to it out the window saying: “Weeeee!” His vocabulary is expanding daily…the other day Sam’s phone went off and I asked him if he got a text or an email. Oliver, who was standing right next to me blurted out: “Meeemaiah,” (email) and ran off giggling, repeating his new word. We’ve heard it a million times this week already. A few other fun ones:

“Onya” – onion
“Bah-pa” – Grandpa (still no word for grandma yet)
“green” – which he points out at every stop light
“melbow” – elbow
“on”
“off”
“up”
“help”
“moa” – more
“apple” – which is now what he calls almost EVERY fruit

I love that he is learning words to convey what he wants (up, help, more) – it is SO helpful, and is cutting down on some of the frustration of not being able to understand what he wants. I still feel like we have to do a bit of translating at times, but it’s really amazing how much he is picking up and learning. Another one of his favorite things to do is to put on his daddy’s uniform hat & id card badge (a lanyard that hangs around his neck), push buttons on Sam’s phone as though doing important business while he drags Sam’s lunchbox behind him, waving at us and telling us that he is going to work. I mean, come on, you don’t get much cuter than that!

4 thoughts on “36 Weeks – & an Oliver Update too!

  1. Your little Oliver is SUCH a cutie:) I just wanted to say that I had a very similar experience with almost passing out when I was pregnant this last time. I was also in a grocery store which is weird…also struggling to get to a bench and barely making it there. But thankfully my husband happened to be with me, but it certainly shook me up! Glad you're OK and, yes, I think you CAN will yourself not to pass out…because I was certainly giving it my best shot as well:) Happy last 4 weeks!

  2. Believe me if you were at a Wegmans they would have caught you before you fell and proceeded to carry you to the bench while holding on to Oliver. They probably would of given you a ride home and put your groceries away for you. All that said, I'm glad you're O.K. Keep up the info, it brings back a lot of memories. Ask your Mom how she saved the day for me by throwing a dish towel over James' face.
    Love,
    Aunt Lori

  3. Sorry you had a similar experience, although it does make me feel a little better to know that I am not the only one who can't handle grocery shopping in the late stages of pregnancy… 🙂 I never had anything like that with Oliver – it was NOT a fun experience! Thankfully, only 4 weeks to go!!

    Your little girls are such cuties as well!

  4. Oh, Wegmans. How I miss it. Seriously. All other grocery stores are forever ruined for me. The store here is ok, but not Wegmans. 🙂 And, a towel?? Haha, sounds interesting, I will try to remember to ask mom next time I talk to her. It's fun to write here and know that I can share stories with family this way…we sometimes seem so far away from everyone! Thanks for the note, and I'll keep posting updates, for sure!

Leave a Reply

