Lately

What a March! Aside from a weekend of potentially bad storms/tornadoes (which thankfully didn’t hit our area after all) it has been an unusually warm and beautifully sunny few weeks. Oliver and I have been taking lots of walks – which he loves – or sitting outside. What a difference a little sunshine makes! The weatherman said we’re about 30 degrees above normal, with most days ranging from 65-80. It’s been lovely. Our front flowerbed is full of daffodils, hyacinths, and another small purple flower that I don’t know the name of, trees are flowering, bushes are budding, and the grass is GREEN!

My new rings arrived the other day, and I love being able to wear them again. Blue Nile really worked with us and we were able to get my diamond re-set in brand new rings that are identical to what I had before. Aren’t they lovely?
Image8
Oliver has been growing and changing so fast…he’s really good at holding his head up now and loves laying on the ground looking at everything going on around him.
Image9
In addition to holding his head up, his other new trick is rolling – front to back and back to front. He can get from one side of the living room to the other in a jiffy (until something like the couch gets in his way…). I can’t imagine what it will be like when he can crawl!
Image11
He’s also quite enamored with the kitty and stares at her, mesmerized. Sadly, the kitty doesn’t return his affection – of course, that might be because he yanks on her fur whenever she gets close. So, she sits just out of his reach and taunts him. She has been longing to go outside and enjoy this nice weather too – and chase the myriad of chipmunks, birds, and squirrels that our neighbors feed.
Image3
We got Oliver an exersaucer; he’s not too sure what he thinks of it.
Image1
I was hoping for something that could keep him entertained just long enough for me to make dinner, but he only puts up with it for a few minutes and then gets frustrated that he can’t quite get the toys into his mouth. He sure tries, though.
Image2
In other news – we have our own form of March Madness here…Teething!! Haha. Oliver is cutting his first tooth (bottom left) so he’s been a bit fussier the last few days. This mama will be happy when it finally breaks through and he’s back to his usual bubbly self. One of the highlights of our days lately has been to sit by the back door in the evening breeze while Sam gets out his guitar to play for a while before Oliver goes to bed.
Image10
I had Sam take a few pictures of Oliver and I the other night. I’ve realized that as much as I love taking pictures, I don’t love not being in any of them, and I want to have some of Oliver and I to look back at too. We ended up with a lot of funny ones – he is just so expressive!
Image6  Image5  Image4
Isn’t he just the cutest??
Image7
3 thoughts on “Lately

  1. You use the camera to its fullest! Nice composition and of course good subjects. Love your header! It is heart rendering to see Sam play to Oliver. The eye contact is so important. A child builds confidence being able to trust and love. Nice job! You remind me of myself when I was younger and photographed everything in site. Saw beauty everywhere! Still do. I'm constantly watching and composing in my mind. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

