Expectantly Waiting…

We got a glimpse of our little boy yesterday via a 4-D ultrasound – which was so incredible. I sat mesmerized, watching the screen in awe as the technician zoomed in on his chubby little fingers and toes, and the confirmation that he is, without a doubt, a little boy. Most of the time he had his face tucked into his hands or behind his elbows, so it was hard to get a peek. After some poking and prodding (which let me know he was not happy about by rolling away and kicking my ribs) we finally got to see his face. I was floored.

Because, staring back at us was our baby. The little life that I have carried for almost 9 months now. I can’t put into words how incredible it was to get a peek at him. This tired, swollen, achy pregnant momma about melted to pieces right there in the ultrasound room. That’s our little boy!!

36 week ultrasound 4D (2)
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. Psalm 139

36 week ultrasound 4D

I love him so much, already! As emotional as I felt sitting there watching him on the screen, I can’t imagine what it will be like when I actually get to hold him in my arms. Somehow, I feel like the achy-ness, the discomforts, the heartburn, the nausea, whatever I experience in labor…none of that will matter anymore when I get to finally see him.

At less than a month to the due date, I am having a lot of braxton hicks (practice) contractions that keep getting stronger and more frequent…and check-ups have changed from once a month to once a week. His room is almost all set up, the car seat is in the car, clothes and blankets are washed, and our living room has a baby swing set up in it! Everywhere I turn there are little reminders that he will be here soon, and man, oh man, I simply cannot wait!

One thought on “Expectantly Waiting…

  1. The technology that allows you to see your little man before his arrival here is just spectacular. These are really great shots and you express your thoughts very well. I'm looking forward to meeting this precious little one! Praying that you both remain strong and healthy and that your delivery will be a breeze. Thanks for sharing with us!
    Cheryl Mickley

Leave a Reply

