An EAD date… "Tis so sweet to trust!

Yep, that’s right. After almost 4 months of waiting, not knowing when we would leave or how much notice we would have…we finally know!  Sam will EAD (enter active duty) November 5, so we will be required to move before that in order to report to the base sometime that week.
It’s amazing what that knowledge does, even just for our mental state. I mean, in a little 1 bedroom apartment with few windows and no idea when the next “stage” of our lives would start…yea, we were beginning to impatiently go a bit stir crazy. It’s so nice to have a date to look forward to, an “end in sight” to this season and the beginning of something completely new.
It’s all quite exciting, and my mind is abuzz with questions. What do we have here that we don’t need to move? What can we give away, throw away, or accidentally “destroy” so that it doesn’t make the move? How does this whole moving process with the AF take place? Where will we live? On-base? Off-base? House? Apt? Will we make friends? Will we like it there? Where will we go to church? How about a new mechanic? Will I get a job when we get there? And my least favorite: where will I get my hair cut?
And, the best part is- lest I get nervous about the uncertainty that this date will bring (as I am sure I will, eventually) – the lyrics of this well known hymn have been resounding in my heart and mind as I go about my days:
’Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus,
And to take Him at His Word;
Just to rest upon His promise,
And to know, “Thus says the Lord!”
Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee,
Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend;
And I know that Thou art with me,
Wilt be with me to the end.
I’ve been nannying this summer and absolutely love the family. They were willing to work with me and hire me on with the knowledge that I would have to leave eventually once we got the call from the Air Force. And my heart was a little heavy this morning as I told them that I would be leaving the end of October. I hated the thought of the mom having to start the interview process again, hoping to find someone who could take my place. But, get this: their former nanny (who quit the week they hired me) now has her schedule re-arranged and called to say that she could pick the job back up if they needed her…in October! So, not only did God hook me up with a job that was PERFECT for me, he also provided for the family in that they will not have any time without a replacement. I mean, come on, how cool is our God?!!?
We have quite the adventure ahead of us, Sam and I. But, in the face of a million unknowns, I know that He will be with us. I know that he will provide. And I can truly say with the one who wrote the hymn:
“I’m so glad I learned to trust Thee, Precious Jesus, Savior Friend…”

One thought on “An EAD date… "Tis so sweet to trust!

  1. Bethany, This is wonderful, and yeah it is so sweet to trust Him sometimes we make it more difficult than it should be…praying for you while you prep for this new adventure!

Leave a Reply

